My OCD

I think everyone has a little Monk in them. For me, I’m a bit OCD about video games. I only like the puzzle/treasure hunt type of games. No first person shooters, thank you. The thing about games like that is they often have mazes or complicated landscapes of some kind, and it is often very important to go everywhere and find everything. So, I make maps. Right now I’m playing Aquaria, which has a rather intricate map, with layers overlapping. I’ve got a rather large, cut up, taped together map of aquatic tunnels hanging on my wall by my computer (Husband says it freaks him out because it reminds him of the movie “A Beautiful Mind“). The thing that makes this OCD is the fact that when I’ve won the game, the map won’t go in the trash. I’ll carefully redraw it nice and neat with a map key and treasure list, fold it up and keep it with the CD of the game. Lest you think that I will use it next time I play the game, let me clarify. I will most likely make a totally new one next time I play. Sometimes I scare myself.

So, what are you OCD about?

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “My OCD

  1. Robert February 12, 2008 at 4:08 pm Reply

    Scan your final map! 🙂

    Like

  2. tdljld February 14, 2008 at 8:52 pm Reply

    Will do.

    Like

  3. marlajayne February 14, 2008 at 8:52 pm Reply

    I don’t think I’m OCD about anything, but i sure know lots of people who are. Interestingly, they don’t mind sharing these things. For instance, one young woman I know has to make words (spoken and heard) come out even. If you say, “Good morning” to her, it comes out on the count of three, an odd number, and she wants you to add something to made it even like “Dear” or “How are you?”

    Like

  4. Aquaria « Jenny’s Blog April 1, 2008 at 4:41 pm Reply

    […] April 1, 2008 Filed under: games — tdljld @ 4:41 pm I mentioned the game Aquaria in an earlier post and I’ve just finished playing.  I think Aquaria is an awesome game.  It’s visually […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

