The Ball

I promised you some thoughts on the ball. So here goes.

We certainly had a most agreeable time at this ball. We arrived in good time and were greeted by many friendly and familiar faces. Their were slightly fewer people in attendance then at previous balls we have been to, but sometimes that is all for the best. There is an advantage to not being so crowded, and you get to talk to and dance with the same people more often, which helps you get to know them better. I danced every dance, despite a sprained toe (at least, I hope it’s only sprained! How do you tell if your toe is broken? (It has been mentioned to me that someone might wonder the source of my hurt toe and falsely assume it was Husband.  I kicked a plastic crate, it’s all me.), Husband is very accommodating like that. I won a door prize this time. The most I’d ever won in my life before was a t-shirt, now I’ve won a book too!

How to describe the ball if you’ve not been to one…well, if you’ve ever watched the A&E version of Pride and Prejudice then you’ve a fair sampling of what it’s like. The era of dress and characters change but the feeling of refinement and elegance never does.

pict2878a.jpg

Here’s a picture of us in our regency attire. I know it was the George Washington’s 276th Birthday Ball, but I’ve not gotten to the late 1700’s in my costume making yet. That will be after I finish the Victorian stuff I’m working on now.

I think I had more fun at this ball then almost any other. It probably has to do with the fact that I’ve begun to feel a part of the main group, the stall-wards. We’ve been going to these events off and on for the last four years (The only reasons we were “off” is it’s hard to wear a corset when your six months pregnant, plus all of Peanuts medical stuff makes it tricky to find babysitters). Last year, shortly after I learned I was pregnant with Cake, Husband was solicited to join the 1st Virginia Volunteer Infantry, times being as they were, he was unable to invest the time or money. Hopefully sometime in the near future he will be able to change that. I wish that I could contribute more to the We Make History cause. There has been much talk of advances in the coming year, hopefully I will find something I can do among those advances to help.

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “The Ball

  1. Tom February 18, 2008 at 8:33 pm Reply

    I think that it’s important to note that it wasn’t your husbands bad dancing that caused your ‘sprained’ toe. Lest somone get the wrong idea!

    Like

  2. Lorie February 26, 2008 at 6:58 pm Reply

    You two are too cute!!!

    Like

  3. amy February 28, 2008 at 8:35 pm Reply

    that looks like alot of fun! i think i’d like to do something like that. all i need is to make a costume, convince my husband it’d be fun, learn how to dance, and teach my husband how to dance. that shouldn’t be too hard, right? so, maybe in about 5 years, we can join you! ; P hee hee!

    Like

  4. tdljld February 29, 2008 at 6:29 am Reply

    Well, you don’t have to have a costume, lots of people come in modern formal/semi-formal attire, you don’t have to know how to dance, they teach the very easy dances at the ball, so you don’t have to teach your husband either…but the convincing your husband it would be fun…that one, your on your own!

    Like

Leave a Reply

