As Mandy Patinkin said

I’ve been fascinated with the connotations of words for a long time…ever since I learned the word connotation. Of late I’ve realized that I have a few words and phrases that I use regularly that I didn’t realize my personal connotations were not understood by everybody. Here are a few.

Yell: By that I mean to argue with someone in an attempt to get my way when I don’t think they will readily concede. The tone may be sweet or angry, but just a general attempt to persuade someone.

Hoodlum: Any kid doing anything that might irritate or bother someone, namely me.

I Know: I understand (I’ve stopped using this one so much as it got me into so much trouble with my mother)

I’m going to steal that: Can I borrow that from you?

Do you stay stuff that everyone misunderstands?

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “As Mandy Patinkin said

  1. Robert February 21, 2008 at 3:50 pm Reply

    “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

    Like

  2. Cami February 27, 2008 at 4:06 am Reply

    What’s a connotation? I’m sorry but my slow brain can’t keep up with all this new English thats out there.

    Like

  3. tdljld February 27, 2008 at 5:30 am Reply

    con·no·ta·tion (kŏnə-tā’shən)

    noun

    1. The act or process of connoting.
    2.
    a. An idea or meaning suggested by or associated with a word or thing: Hollywood holds connotations of romance and glittering success.
    b. The set of associations implied by a word in addition to its literal meaning.
    3. Logic The set of attributes constituting the meaning of a term; intension

    Like

  4. amy February 28, 2008 at 8:28 pm Reply

    all the time!!—especially now that you throw british speak into the mix!

    so now, even I sometimes don’t know which word i should use to say what i mean! i don’t even try to explain sometimes because i’m so tired of trying to explain. can’t people just understand what i mean?!

    Like

  5. Steve March 17, 2008 at 6:51 am Reply

    Oi! Watch the anti-Brit. stuff. You never know who is reading this stuff…

    Anyway, what is the language called again?

    Ah yes, English!

    Like

Leave a Reply

