The secret to a clean house and happy kids

A friend of mine wrote in her blog about how she felt like life got in the way of doing and being with her kids in the way she wanted to. She had a day where shes said “for 20 minutes I was the mom I hope to be everyday”

I was having one of those mornings, Cake was crying all morning, off and on, for no reason I could discern, other then to try and get me to hold her. Peanut was running around after me pulling things out just as I cleaned them up. Then I thought about my friends post. I said to myself, “Self, forget the cleaning, it’s obvious your kids need your attention more then your house does.” So I did. And we’ve had a fun morning. Cake stopped crying (until just now as I’m trying to type this) and Peanut stopped making messes.

Hum, maybe the secret to a clean house and happy kids is to never clean. Just keep your kids busy all day so they can’t make any messes.

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “The secret to a clean house and happy kids

  1. Camille April 16, 2008 at 5:19 pm Reply

    I like it you idea, but I’ve found most parenting theories are just that, a theory.

    Like

  2. Becca April 16, 2008 at 9:52 pm Reply

    Dude that’s hilarious. Your kids never get into anything, or whine, or cry, etc. You have perfect angelic children, remember? 🙂

    Like

  3. tdljld April 18, 2008 at 8:23 am Reply

    oh, I forgot. Perhaps all the whining and crying drove it from my brain… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

