The CDC

Or was it…?

So a few months back the CDC (or someone claiming to be from the CDC) called and wanted to do a survey on our child’s vaccinations.  Husband, trying to do a good deed and help out, agreed.  In the midst of this survey Peanut needed his help/supervision so he had to let them go before the survey was complete.

A few days after that they called back wanting to complete the survey.  So, I started helping them.  But (their always a but isn’t their) then they asked for Peanuts social security number, which I refused to give.  They wanted my date of birth and full name, which I refused to give.  They wanted the Ped’s name and to be allowed to have full access to Peanuts medical records, which I also refused to give.  Then we were kind of stuck.  He asked why I wouldn’t give that information, I told him that was information that I do not give out, particularly over the phone, that I just wasn’t comfortable giving that much personal information out to someone I didn’t know.  The surveyor then went into this spiel about how he was from the CDC and I could look at their web site an see that it was alright…yada, yada, yada… I told him that looking at the CDC’s web site wouldn’t prove that he was from there or make me comfortable with giving out my personal information over the phone.  He asked me to look at the web site and consider it, and that’s where the conversation ended.

A few weeks after that, another person from the “CDC” called wanting to complete the survey.  I told them the same thing that I had told the first guy.  This person wanted to send me a letter with a $5 incentive to complete the survey and I would get an additional $10 when I did.  I told him not to bother with sending the letter, as that wouldn’t change my mind.  That’s where the conversation ended.

A few weeks after that, the letter showed up (I didn’t give them our address so I guess they got it the same place they got our phone number).  I didn’t respond to said letter.

A few weeks after that, they called again.  I again told them that I would not complete the survey and to please stop calling.  They kept calling.  I stopped answering the phone when they called.  This apparently put me on the “bad” list.

Yesterday, I got a phone call from them again (this time from an unlisted number (why, you ask, do I pick up unlisted numbers? Because when my office calls it’s always unlisted)) and the lady on the other end of the phone was apparently their “closer”, the “I’m not getting off the phone until you tell me what I want to know person”.  I told her what I had said to the other guys, that I wasn’t going to give more information and please stop calling.  She wanted to know what specifically I wasn’t uncomfortable with giving out.  When I, well my social to start, she goes on about how they didn’t ask for that (so was she calling me a liar).  Then I mentioned that I wasn’t going to give access to my child’s medical records to someone who I don’t know calling me over the phone, “Oh,” she says “we just use those to get the dosage amounts for the vaccinations” Doesn’t change the fact that I’m not going to give that to you.  My date a birth, she says was just to verify my ages (again, assuming I would lie if I had given them my age, which I didn’t.)  She’s going on an on and I finally interrupted her and said “Look, I have told you that I’m not going to give you any more information, what is it going to take to get you to stop calling?  She says “but it’s to protect your children!!”  I snap back at her “NO! That’s my job!  It’s my job to protect my children.  MY JOB! Not yours.”  She says “but their are other children that don’t…”.  I don’t know what she was going to say next because at that point I hung up.

So, the moral of the story is, no good deed goes unpunished.  Poor Husband feels so bad for having opened the door to this flood gate.  Poor guy didn’t know what jerks they were going to be.

I think it’s a prime example of government run away with itself.  So to “protect children” we have to FORCE YOU to take our survey and give out personal information that no sane person gives out over the phone to someone they don’t know.  Hum…I think I need protecting from you!

What experiences have you had with people who won’t take NO!!!! for an answer?  What are some classic lines they have fed you?

Tagged:

One thought on “The CDC

  1. Robert April 18, 2008 at 10:25 am Reply

    I’d send a written complaint to the CDC:

    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    1600 Clifton Rd
    Atlanta, GA 30333

    Like

Leave a Reply

