These are some of my least favorite things

Well, this lack of posts wasn’t due to having a fun time somewhere…this was due to having NO FUN at all.

Cake wound up back in the ER and we were then admitted to the Hospital. (I think the ER somehow got wind of my post about them, the service was MUCH better this time round.)

Cake is much better now. She can breath which, as we all know, is a necessary function.  We spent a lot of time watching the O2 stat monitor.  I really think some of you engineers out there need to create a better way then the little toe light to track a baby’s O2 stats.

We came home with three meds to give her and a nebulizer. Her doc thinks she’ got some horrible respiratory bug.  We also did RAST testing for a milk allergy, but we don’t yet have the results for that back.

I’m really tired from all my non-sleeping (the cots they bring you aren’t very comfortable, but better then sleeping on the floor, which is what I would have done if they hadn’t brought it. I can’t imagine leaving my little baby all alone in the hospital. I’m so glad that my situation is such that I didn’t have to. I always feel so bad when I walk past all the rooms where the baby is alone. I’m sure it must just kill the parents to have to leave.

Then to top it all off, Husband got deathly ill the day after we got home. We can’t seem to catch a break. I think we are going to hit our insurance deductibles REALLY early this year!

Of all the things that happen, I think my least favorite it my kids being sick.

6 thoughts on “These are some of my least favorite things

  1. Mom May 9, 2008 at 6:55 pm Reply

    YES. I would rather be sick myself.

    Like

  2. Lorie May 9, 2008 at 8:51 pm Reply

    I am glad that they are feeling better. I am so sorry you had such a stinky week!

    I am hoping you stayed healthy and that next week is MUCh better for you!

    Like

  3. cowgalutah May 10, 2008 at 12:01 pm Reply

    I just wanted to stop by and wish ya a happy mother’s day!

    Like

  4. Anonymous May 12, 2008 at 6:54 am Reply

    Here’s hoping of better times for all of you.

    Like

  5. Camille May 12, 2008 at 6:56 am Reply

    I know this is awful of me, and as much as I HATE my kids being sick I love how cuddly they are when they are sick. But yes really sick kids are the worst thing to deal with. But it makes you love them more.

    Like

  6. Robert May 12, 2008 at 10:18 am Reply

    Glad that she’s doing better.

    As any father can tell you, when someone from the hospital points to a piece of furniture and says, “You can sleep on that!” what they really mean is, “If you haven’t slept for a week, you might possibly be able to fall asleep on that, but you will wake up very uncomfortable.” When Elena was born, I spent the first night on chair that was claimed to be sleep worthy. The next night I wised up and brought an air mattress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

