Purple Diamonds Three

Husband got on my case for not telling his favorite part of this story (okay, I’m exaggerating here, he just asked why I didn’t).

When my mother sent the “Purple Diamond” to Peanut she also sent a present to Cake. A very good grandmother does her best to be fair, right? So Cake happened to be taking a nap when the box showed up so we only opened Peanut’s gift, leaving Cake’s unopened. Apparently this was just too much for Peanut to handle. She asked to open the other one. When I told her it was Cake’s and we would have to wait until she woke up to open it she only waited a few seconds before asking “Cake Wake up?” (P.S. in case you were wondering, Peanut does in-fact call Cake, Cake. That’s where we got the nickname) I said “No, Cake is still sleeping. A few seconds later. She stated “Cake Wake up. Open her present now.” “No no, sweetheart,” said I. “Cake is still asleep. We have to wait until she wakes up to open her present.”

I’m sure any mom out there can get how my next ten minutes were spent.

A short time later when I was occupied cleaning something up I was interrupted by Peanut exclaiming “Cake got Purple Diamonds!!!” (She didn’t, she got headbands and hair clips) She had opened Cake’s present. Then followed a discussion of how not everything belongs to Peanut and it’s not nice to open other people’s presents. Luckily my mom sent these gifts in little ribbon tied bags so I was able to re-wrap Cakes with out any trouble (or I should say, luckily Peanut untied the ribbon from the bag instead of ripping it to get Cake’s present out.)

Now, I know Cake isn’t old enough to care about opening presents, but it was the principal of the thing.

So, for all you more seasoned parents out their, when do kids figure out that not everything in the world belongs to them? I’m guessing some time around 18 maybe 19. Am I right?

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Purple Diamonds Three

  1. Robert May 24, 2008 at 7:54 pm Reply

    I think they don’t really figure that out until they’re running their own household and paying their own bills. In other words, when everything really does belong to them.

    Like

  2. Camille May 27, 2008 at 11:13 am Reply

    I think kids start to realize not everything is theirs when they have to start cleaning it. On a daily basis I hear “Why should have to, it’s not mine!”

    Like

Leave a comment