Depths

It’s always amazing to me how having children changes you. There are levels and depths of Love, Sacrifice and Sorrow are known only to parents. My brother and sister-in-law just found out their daughter is autistic. Although I cannot understand their particular pain, I do understand the feelings of a parent when a doctor tells you your child’s life will hold some challenges that you didn’t expect.

One thing that I always thought at that point was my child was still the same child, nothing had changed about them.  My understanding of how to be a good parent for them just became greater, my understanding of what my child needed from me in life expanded.

I just wanted my brother and sister-in-law and their kids to know that we love them and are here for them.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Depths

  1. Robert July 7, 2008 at 9:21 am Reply

    Thank you. You make a point that we’ve been thinking a lot about also: the diagnosis doesn’t really change anything, other than giving us a name for her difficulties. We’re already doing the things that are recommended to help her. In fact, given our family’s history of ADD, I was kind of already planning on having to deal with problems of this sort, although this particular one was unexpected.

    The encouraging thing is that, despite her challenges, she is making progress. It will take time and a lot of effort, but I really believe that at some point she’ll lead a fairly normal life, at least as normal as mine is, anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

