Independence Day

Did you know that the 4th of July is not actually Independence Day?  July 2nd is.  July 4th was the day the Declaration of Independence was signed.  Have you ever read the Declaration of Independence?  Have you ever read it since you were in grade school?  Have you ever read it voluntarily?  How about the ConstitutionThe Bill of Rights?

Frankly, you should.

Today there are a lot of parties, fireworks, food, which is great.  But don’t forget WHY you are having that BBQ.  When I lived in Armenia I was their for two July 4th’s.  I had a lot of people come up to me and shake my hand and say, very seriously, “Congratulations on your countries Independence.” July 5th happens to be the day Armenia adopted their constitution.   When I was there they were a lot closer to the gaining of their freedom then we have ever been in my lifetime.  I think the honor and seriousness which with the people I met take that independence is something we can learn from.

So today, I want you to read the Declaration of Independence, remember, and be grateful.

2 thoughts on “Independence Day

  1. Camille July 7, 2008 at 9:51 am Reply

    This was a GREAT post. It’s amazing what living in another country can do for you perspective.

    Like

  2. Steve July 25, 2008 at 1:51 pm Reply

    As a citizen of the “ex-owner” may I say what a pleasure it gives to us Brits to be able to give so many of the world’s countries back to their owners.

    I trust the tongue-in-cheek is noted, no too mention the implied comment to all states that wish to impose upon others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

