Decisions

As a test of how well you know me, ask yourself this question.

Is Jenny a decisive or indecisive person?

If you answered (as I’m sure Husband did) indecisive, you are correct.  I am, what I like to term, conditionally indecisive.  When I feel that the decision affects someone, other then myself, I tend to be unable to decide anything until I’m sure that my decision will totally accommodate you and your wants.  (This touches on a whole other personality flaw I have that I won’t get into today.)  The problem with this is that one can never really be sure what another person wants.  Especially if you suspect, like I often do, other people are trying to do the exact same thing when they tell you what they want!

Also, I have to think over all kinds of different crazy angles to be sure that my decision won’t create any other unforeseen problems.  For example, it took me a year to pick out the couch we have now.  What is the right shape? What would be the right color?  Was is really necessary to buy a new couch in the first place?  Would I still like it after I had it for a while?  Was it the right kind of couch for a “long term” investment that furniture should be?  Those are just a few of the questions I asked myself before I bought my couch.

I have recently realized that this problem of mine is lessened if I feel that my making a decision will solve a problem more then any problem making a decision could make.

Enter the problem.

We live in an approximately 900 sq/ft house.  We have two kids.  Those two kids have stuff.  Husband has stuff.  I have stuff.  I’m sure you see the problem.

So I woke up one morning and said to myself, “Self, this problem needs to be fixed!”  So I hopped on IKEA’s web site and in an hour figured out solutions to all our storage/organization problems (when I say ALL I’m exaggerating a bit, but I really feel like what I came up with will make a big difference).  And while I was doing all this deciding I picked out cabinets, flooring and counter top that we have been debating about for the last five years.

I’m proud of me.  I hope you are too.

What is/had been hard for your to decide?

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Decisions

  1. Becca July 17, 2008 at 2:05 pm Reply

    Haha, I remember that conversation 🙂 You people pleaser you! Hey, sorry for not calling you back last week when you called for a playdate. The day you called was, uh, REALLY tough. We should go to the Kids Museum sometime, I have a B1G1 free so I think it would just be $5 for you to get in and the girls would be free. Let me know!

    Like

  2. Shanan July 17, 2008 at 2:08 pm Reply

    I think …. if theres too much stuff to fit in your house (doesn’t matter if you can organized it) … you need to move to a bigger house here in Austin!! 😉

    I’m very proud you were able to work out the problem and find a solution and then some!

    Like

  3. Lorie July 17, 2008 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Shanan she does NOT need to move to Austin! I was afraid that moving was going to be the solution she came up with and am VERY glad it wasn’t!

    I like when you are indecisive. Especially when it is about things that are edible and I have to come over and help you decide!

    I am super proud of you for picking out your new flooring and kitchen cabinets! I think you have been deciding on that since I met you!

    Like

  4. Tom July 18, 2008 at 11:03 am Reply

    Just for the record, the house is 990sf. NOT counting the garage. 😛

    And Austin?! Nooooo way! Mesa is almost too liberal for me; Austin would be a nightmare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

