I don’t like Boys!

Peanut had very strong feelings about what the gender of this baby should be.  She was determined that it was a girl.  Every time I asked her “What if it’s a boy?”  She would tell me I could have two babies.  One a girl and one a boy.  But most of the time she would just tell me “No, it’s a girl baby.  I wondered what she would do if we had a boy.

So the other day when we had the ultrasound I broke the news to her that we are, in fact, having a boy.

She was less then pleased.

The first thing out of her mouth was “I don’t like boys!” Which, of course, we know is false as all her favorite people are boys.  She went on to exclaim that she didn’t like me and how it wasn’t a boy baby it was a girl baby.  All the way home from where she was babysat during the ultrasound she kept telling me “I don’t like boys, I don’t like you!”.

When we got home and Husband had a little talk with her after I told him what had happened.  He sat Peanut on his lap and told her again the baby is a boy.  She said she didn’t like boys.  To which Husband replied “I’m a boy.  Don’t you like me?”  Peanut said “No, I don’t like you…”  then she looked up at Husbands face.  She broke down.  “I love you Daddy!” she said as she threw her arms around his neck.

From that point on she has become more and more reconciled to the fact that the baby is a boy.

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “I don’t like Boys!

  1. Lindsay Rookhuyzen October 30, 2008 at 3:31 pm Reply

    Jocelyn was so sad that Chase was a boy and as much as she wanted a girl this tiem I think she is more excited that she is having another brother. Peanut will come to love him as soon as he gets here. I took Jocey shoping to pick out things for the baby and that seemed to hlep her bond ahead of time.

    Like

  2. Stephanie October 30, 2008 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Congrats! That’s exciting to have a boy now. You get to fun trucks and planes and dirt and rocks…yeah!

    Like

  3. Fawn October 30, 2008 at 8:14 pm Reply

    Congratulations on your baby boy who will be joining your beautiful family soon!!! That is so exciting for you guys!! Oh how fun!

    Like

  4. Lorie November 2, 2008 at 1:23 pm Reply

    A boy! YEAH!!! Congratulations!

    Like

  5. Becca November 3, 2008 at 10:49 am Reply

    SWEET! I’m happy for you guys. Boys are….well, just think of Riley. J\k Riley’s just crazy! That will be fun for you to have a boy!

    Like

  6. Robert November 3, 2008 at 3:50 pm Reply

    Congratulations. Boys are *way* more fun than girls. Says me, anyway. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

