Things that I hope never happen to me

So I have this kind of list in my head of things that I hope never happen to me.

A lingering and painful death, cancer, blindness, My children dieing, house broken into, being kidnapped or being a hostage…that kind of stuff.

One thing that I thought I would be okay with is if someone stole my car.  I always said to myself, “I’ve got insurance and as long as they never find the car I’m cool.  I’ll just buy a new car with the insurance money, (which at the moment would be rather handy a bigger car would be nice.)

Just a note, if you car ever DOES get stolen, don’t hope that the cops find it (unless you don’t have gap insurance and your upside down in your car (by the way, always have gap insurance)) because your not gonna want it back, really.  You might want the stuff that was in your car, but you really don’t want the car back.  I have this on the expert opinion of a friend of mine who has had more then one car stolen and did get them back.

Today when I walked out of the store my car wasn’t there.  Me, two little kids, a big bag of shopping, lunch time and NO CAR.

My first thought was “Oh Crap.”

My second thought was “Who do I know that has car seats and room enough to come get us?  And do I have their number in my phone?”

After a bit of wandering around and a frantic call to Husband (who, by the way, was out of state on business.)  I thought I must have gone out the wrong door at the store.  Luckily that turned out to be the case.

So I must revise my list.  I never want my car stolen if I have the kids with me.  If I had been on my own I think I would have been more okay.  I was just imagining having to talk to the cops and all that stuff on top of trying to find someone who would be able to take us home with hungry and tired kids.

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Things that I hope never happen to me

  1. Lorie December 8, 2008 at 4:30 pm Reply

    I am so glad you just went out the wrong door! Gotta love pregnancy brain! ;D

    Like

  2. Lindsay Rookhuyzen December 10, 2008 at 5:29 pm Reply

    Yeah that would be the worst to have a car stolen when you had your kids with you. But hey you can always call me I have the right size car seats for your kids. I would only have to get a sitter which wouldn’t be to hard!

    Like

    • tdljld December 10, 2008 at 8:24 pm Reply

      And I have your number in my phone. Okay, so now I have a plan if I ever DO get my car stolen and I have the kids with me! Thanks!

      Like

  3. Fawn December 14, 2008 at 11:53 pm Reply

    You could also call me if you need help! So keep my number handy as well, just in case…

    Like

Leave a Reply

