Mommy Brain

I have this theory, actually it might be considered more of an anti-theory.

I can’t count the times I’ve heard women say they are stupider or know fewer things since they had kids.  This phenomenon is often referred to as “Mommy Brain”.  I have an alternate theory.

My theory is that you only have so much “active” memory, memory of things that can be called up instantly whenever needed.  Everything else goes into a “passive” memory that requires a trigger to bring it into “active” memory.  Women seem to think that because the periodic table or π to the 100th decimal no longer in their “active” memory that they somehow have less of it or are less smart.  That’s simply not true.

Other things are just taking up their “active” memory.  Like the weight of their children at birth, how many teeth the kids have, when their next doctor appointment is, a myriad of things to watch for illness wise.  Or what cute new thing their child did, or what milestone they should be reaching next, or the all words to the part they have in the school play.  You get the idea.

So the next time you catch yourself saying or thinking you have “Mommy Brain” remember, it’s all in there, it’s just being put to the back for more currently relevant information.  When your kids are grown and you need to be able to recite the periodic table again you will have that “active” memory freed up for storing that kind of information.

Also, my theory is why I will give you a dirty look of you tell me I have “Mommy Brain”.

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Mommy Brain

  1. Robert January 23, 2009 at 4:42 pm Reply

    Or how to spell “myriad”… Just kidding. Don’t hit me!

    In any case, I’m one to talk. I had what people call “Mommy Brain” long before I became a, well, daddy.

    Like

  2. Anonymous January 25, 2009 at 3:22 pm Reply

    I like that theory…and it totally makes sense!

    Like

  3. Pat February 3, 2009 at 5:56 pm Reply

    The “mommy brain” explanation is great but don’t think it will get better because then new children are added (coming fully grown of course which is great) but they all have birthdays and anniversary dates. And I don’t even have time to talk about what happens to the “Granny brain” caused by grandchildren.

    I used to tell people, my brain was like a shelf. Put too much on it up front and other stuff gets pushed off the back!

    Thanks for the smile, Jenny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

