Take Care Mommy Blood

So a few days back I had some blood drawn.  I took the two little kids with me while Peanut was in school.  I always tell my kids what we are doing, perhaps more than I should.  So, as per usual, I explained to Cake we were going to Mommy’s doctor and they were going to take some of Mommy’s blood out to test it.

Cake’s response to this was “You get checked Mommy.”  Said with a very serious face.

I said “Yes, they are going to check Mommy’s blood.”

“Okay”

So, we went down to the phlebotomy office and when the phlebotomist (sp?) called me back Cake said

“Time check Mommy blood.”

Then when I sat down and the phlebotomist pulled out the needle and started to stick me Cake’s eyes got VERY wide and she looked at me and said.

“Not look Mommy, close her eyes.”  then a few seconds later.  “Good job Mommy, her brave.”

Then when we were all done and were walking out of the room Cake said

“Tanks Docor, take care Mommy’s Blood!  Bye-bye!”

If I always had such encouragement and comedy to go along with my blood draws maybe they wouldn’t freak me out so much!

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Take Care Mommy Blood

  1. Carol Crisp September 14, 2010 at 3:08 pm Reply

    Cake is so cute!!

    Like

  2. Jen September 14, 2010 at 3:24 pm Reply

    Too funny!
    p.s. you better just drop the kids off at my house next time so you don’t have to haul them with you. So serious 🙂

    Like

  3. salsa mama September 15, 2010 at 10:05 am Reply

    That is sooo sweet!!! She is a doll. Us mommys are lucky to have such support from our kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

