Blogaquette

I am sure that I have mentioned the fact that I am into etiquette.  I have the 16th edition of Emily Posts Etiquette book.  I have read the whole thing.  I’m not saying I’m good at it, it’s just a subject I am interested an something I strive to improve in thought my life, I make my share of blunders, as we all do.

The internet and blogs provide a whole new thorny arena for etiquette.  What is okay to say, what is not.  What is right to do, what is not.  How you deal with certain situations that just don’t happen without the internet.  I was talking with a friend of mine about this subject.

I think part of the reason that people have such differing idea’s about what is appropriate on the internet is because they have such different reasons for blogging.  One person may do it just to keep people updated on what is generally going on with them, one person may do it for an emotional outlet so they don’t explode and one person may write just for a creative outlet.  My friend and I though someone needs to write a Blogaquette book.  Or maybe even better, everyone who has a blog should have a Blogaquette page explaining what they expect for their blog.

For example:

I don’t use real names on my blog, so if you comment don’t use my kids real names.  Your are welcome to write about me or my kids on your blog, just use the fake names I use on my blog when you do it.  If you catch me messing up on this, please point it out to me, I will appreciate it.

I don’t say where I live in my blog.  I don’t even say what state.  I have mentioned it’s hot here in the summer, that’s about it.  So, don’t say where I live either.

Stuff like that…you get the idea?  Here’s another one.

If you put me on your blogroll use the name of my blog the way I have it.  I don’t want my real last name on the internet (do you notice a theme with mine?)

Oh, if I put you on my blogroll and you don’t put me on yours after about eight week’s I’ll assume you found that creepy and take you off.

Hum…what else…

Don’t write things on your blog that if someone finds out about it it will hurt their feelings/someone will lose their job etc. It’s the internet, once you post something, it’s there forever, removing the post later doesn’t make it gone.

If you curse on your blog I will stop following you.  I don’t care who you are.

I will shamelessly edit any comments made on my blog.

How about you guys?  What Blogaquette do you have or would you like to have for your blog?

One thought on “Blogaquette

  1. Jen June 19, 2011 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Even though i complain about it, I know I am surly slipping up all the time, and can always better my etiquette too. I think it’s just not even thought about until it too late. but if so, then just make the changes necessary:)
    Love the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

