Birth Story Part II

So, last time I told you what happened when Meatloaf was born.  Let me continue the story here.

So after all that the moved us to the postpartum room.  I sent Husband home shortly after that.  I always send him home, although I wish I had not when I had my c-section.  I had a quite nice night with my new little sweet baby.

The next morning my pediatrician came by to check Meatloaf.  As you probably know, Peanut has mitral valve stinosis.   So, we always check my babies in a mirriad of ways before they are born to make sure they are okay and won’t need special care when they are born.  But, there are somethings you can’t check for.  When the pediatrician checked him he said that he had a murmur and so we needed to get an echo.  I wasn’t too worried about it because we had a fetal echo done before he was born and I knew all the parts were there.

My doctor came and checked me and would have let me go home that day but I asked her to let me stay because I knew it was going to be a while before they did the echo and I didn’t want to have to check out before he did.

So, about 10:30 they came and took him to get his echo.  Husband got back right after they took him and so we went down to the nursery to watch.  They were doing the echo and I could tell something was not good because of the way the echo tech acted.  She had them take his blood pressure and his O2 stats.  When I saw his O2 stats I started to cry.  He was in the low 80’s and you are supposed to be in the high 90’s.  I started to cry.

Just then my kids walked up to the window with their Granny.  I tried to not let them see me crying but poor Peanut did and got all worried.  I feel really bad about that.

Mean while they immediate hooked Meatloaf up to oxygen and his stats came right up, which was good.  They took him back into the intensive care part of the nursery and we were able to bring the kids in one at a time to see him.  Peanut looked so sad and worried. Cake and Lunchmeat were not.  Cake was just super happy to have baby boy born and Lunchmeat was just excited to be somewhere new.  Peanut asked if he was going to die and my heart just about broke.  She then wrote a card for him.  Here it is.IMG_20131115_130732_171IMG_20131115_130724_187

Here’s a cute baby pic to make up for how sad the story is at this point.

IMG_20131106_133124_681 They told us that he had patent ductus arteriosus.

More later, but as you can tell by the happy baby picture, all is now well.

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Birth Story Part II

  1. Sally November 16, 2013 at 12:44 pm Reply

    Oh my gosh, I almost cried just now. That card is the sweetest thing, and the pic of Meatloaf is DARLING! I love hearing your story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

