Peanut and Harry Potter

Peanut has recently discovered Harry Potter.  It was something we have been talking about having her read for a while.  The only reason that I put it off so long is she scares so easily and Harry Potter not only has some heavy themes but some scary scenes.  Her two best friends have been pestering her to read it and then the first book came up as t book for her book club, so I thought it was probably time.  We were at a book fair and I suggested she buy it for her book.  She was reluctant as she had a different book she wanted, but she bought it in the end (bought both actually, I only pitch in for so much at book fairs, if they want more then the set amount they have to pay for it themselves, but that’s a story for another day).

It took her one day to read it and she LOVED IT!!!!!!

When she was done she immediately came to me and said. “I NEED the next book, it is essential for my survival.”

She repeated this several times a day until I convinced her to check out the second digitally from the library.

She read that in one day, despite being quite ill at the time.

Harry Potter has resulted in a new obsession for her, it may have even replace science as her favorite thing, I’m not sure but here are some of the things she has shared with me about Harry Potter.

  • She already has her next birthday theme all planned, Harry Potter and Potion making.
  • She wants all the Harry Potter books.  She wants them in soft cover so that she can hug them.
  • She has finished the first book in Pottermore and is happy to be a Ravenclaw.
  • She felt guilty, like she was betraying us, because she was imagining that she was related to Harry Potter.  I told her that was not a betrayal of her own family and that she didn’t have to feel guilty.
  • She personally identifies we Hermione and I think that’s a perfect fit.  If you knew her you would see how she is a real life Hermione, same idiosyncrasies, same personality, same hair.
  • She is beside herself with excitement because the book club that caused her to read it is here at our house.  She’s been working on her book club plan ever since she finished the book.

I could go on, and she has, but I will let you imagine it for yourself.

I LOVE seeing my kids learn to LOVE new things, especially when they are things that I love as well.  It was hard not to push it on her.  Loving something, especially books, is not something you can really give to someone, and you can ruin it for them if you try to hard.  I’m glad this one worked out and I’m excited to see her learn to love more things.  I hope she takes to Lord of the Rings as well.  That will be fun!

What was something new and exciting that you or your kids recently learned to love?  How do you share the things you love with your kids?

Tagged:

One thought on “Peanut and Harry Potter

  1. katie May 13, 2015 at 8:36 am Reply

    I love this! It would make me so happy of one of my kiddos loved reading as much as I do, but it hasn’t happened yet. Fingers crossed, though; it’s not too late. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

