My Blood lies

So, if you recall a few months back I did some blood testing for food allergies and it all came back negative.  Today I did skin testing for the shellfish that I’d had reaction to when I ate it.

When they do skin testing they do a positive and negative control.  The positive control is straight up histamine.  My reaction to shrimp was bigger then my reaction to the positive control, my reaction to lobster was the same size as the positive control, and my reaction to crab was a little bit smaller.  So, the allergist is satisfied that I am REALLY allergic to shellfish.  I was hoping after nine years of not eating shrimp I would have “grown out” of my allergy.  Apparently not.

I guess at this point I must reconcile myself to never eating that stuff again.  I always held out hope that one day, one day I would again be able to savor the tasty flavors that shellfish provide.  But alas, it is not to be.  Farewell sweet shrimp, I will always remember you fondly.

So, go out and eat some shellfish for me today, will ya?  At least someone can enjoy it!

3 thoughts on “My Blood lies

  1. Lorie May 13, 2008 at 4:41 pm Reply

    Must remember not to give you any gifts that contain shell fish! Shouldn’t be too hard!

    Did you get Cake’s test results?

    Like

  2. Camille May 14, 2008 at 11:57 am Reply

    Every time a get a chance to eat shellfish, I will do so in your honor. I will try enjoy it for you as often as I can. Yummy!

    Like

  3. Steve May 20, 2008 at 11:49 am Reply

    Your word is my command on this one – I’m pleased to report duty done. Delicious!

    Like

Leave a comment